Uploaded image for project: 'Jira Server and Data Center'
  1. Jira Server and Data Center
  2. JRASERVER-35018

Ability to detect a deleted user in LDAP and disable that user

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Type: Suggestion
    • Status: Closed (View Workflow)
    • Resolution: Duplicate
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: None
    • Labels:
      None
    • Feedback Policy:
      We collect Jira feedback from various sources, and we evaluate what we've collected when planning our product roadmap. To understand how this piece of feedback will be reviewed, see our Implementation of New Features Policy.

      Description

      NOTE: This suggestion is for JIRA Server. Using JIRA Cloud? See the corresponding suggestion.

      If a user is deleted from LDAP, if using a connector user directory on the next sync it will delete that user from JIRA. It doesn't appear this follows some of the inbuilt restrictions around deleting users in the GUI - for example you can delete a user from LDAP and it will remove them even if they're assigned issues. This can leave all sorts of orphaned information and cause problems.

      Given we now have deactivate user functionality in JIRA, rather than deleting the user in JIRA can we deactivate the user? This would prevent us from getting into situations where deleting a user has caused problems in JIRA.

      Workaround

      Deactivate the user in the LDAP engine and JIRA rather then deleting them.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              Unassigned Unassigned
              Reporter:
              dcurrie@atlassian.com Dave C
              Votes:
              1 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              5 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: