Uploaded image for project: 'Bitbucket Server'
  1. Bitbucket Server
  2. BSERV-9254

Allow "Delete source branch after merging" to be enabled by default

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • UIS:
      6,317
    • Feedback Policy:
      We collect Bitbucket feedback from various sources, and we evaluate what we've collected when planning our product roadmap. To understand how this piece of feedback will be reviewed, see our Implementation of New Features Policy.

      Description

      Atlassian status as of June 2020

      Hi everyone,

      Thanks for your advocacy and feedback on this suggestion. Starting with Bitbucket Server and Data Center 7.3, the delete source branch after merging option will now be selected by default when you merge a pull request. If this isn’t your preferred setting, you can change it and we’ll remember your choice for next time (using browser's local storage).

      Some of you in comments had requested an admin setting or branch pattern based setting for deleting branches post merge - it is not on our roadmap, please create a seperate suggestion for it. If you need to delete branches in bulk, then please provide your feedback on this suggestion - https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/BSERV-4142

      Edit 12-June-20: There is bug due to which preference is not stored in the local storage and it will be fixed soon. You can track it here https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/BSERV-12407  

      Edit 19-June-20: The issue related to preference not being stored in local storage has been fixed in 7.3.1 https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/BSERV-12407 

      Cheers,
      Imran Khan
      Product Manager - Bitbucket Server

      Original request description 

      Customers might end up having a lot of dead branches laying around in Stash / Bitbucket Server because developers who do merges do not always check the "Delete source branch after merging" option.
      There should be a way to configure Stash / Bitbucket Server to enable the "delete branch" option for all pull requests as the default, in order to force developers to uncheck the option if they actually wanted to keep the branch.

      Actually, it would be better to configure the option based on branch name patterns. For example branches named "releases/*" the default would be to NOT delete the branch.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              Unassigned
              Reporter:
              fkraemer Felipe Kraemer
              Votes:
              579 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              223 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: