When you remove a user from a group added to the dashboard Editors, that user will not be able to edit their own dashboard directly from the Dashboard.
On Jira 8.5.0-8.5.4, this problem is also experienced if shared to "Anyone on the web", but Jira Admin -> System -> General Configuration -> Sharing with anyone on the web is turned off. This makes it harder for users to remove this permission from their own dashboards.
- Jira Software 7.12 introduced the ability to share edit rights for filters and dashboards
- Create and Save a Dashboard
- Add a Crowd Group that you are a member of as a Editor of the Dashboard
- Verify you can edit the Dashboard
- Remove your account from the Crowd Group
- You can no longer share or edit the Dashboard directly from the Dashboard despite being the owner.
- Users should always be able to edit a dashboard they own.
- The user can no longer share or edit the Dashboard directly from the Dashboard despite being the owner.
- Navigate to Dashboards > Manage Dashboards > My
- Click the gear icon next to your Dashboard
- Add your account as an Editor
- Alternatively, you can add yourself back to the group you were removed from. Users may move between roles in a company but still need to edit the Dashboards they own.