Uploaded image for project: 'Jira Server and Data Center'
  1. Jira Server and Data Center
  2. JRASERVER-23420

CLONE - Alternate to "delete user" -- leave user in Jira but actually disable

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Feedback Policy:
      We collect Jira feedback from various sources, and we evaluate what we've collected when planning our product roadmap. To understand how this piece of feedback will be reviewed, see our Implementation of New Features Policy.

      Description

      People leave. They get fired. They die.

      But through all that they are still in Jira. We change their password to a random one, and edit the email address. But this still clutters up our lists of assignable users, and occasionally results in a dearly departed getting assigned an issue. Jira prevents us from deleting them:

      This user cannot be deleted at this time because there are issues assigned to them, they have reported issues, or they are currently the lead of a project.
      Please note that any components with this user set as the lead will have the component lead set to empty when the user is deleted.

      I am aware that we can bulk assign the reporter to someone else... but then we loose valuable at a glance history. What we'd like is to really disable the users, without deleting them.

      There are many dupes of this report, most closed as "won't fix".

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              Unassigned Unassigned
              Reporter:
              6ba20daadb1e jurfalino
              Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              1 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: