Resolution: Won't Fix
Severity 3 - Minor
This bug is very similar to
After removing a user from a private room via Remove member, the user is not immediately kicked out of the room. In some environments, it can take the room up to 5 minutes for the user to be kicked out.
HipChat Server 2.2.4
HipChat Data Center 3.0.1
- Login with a user to HipChat
- Add the user to a private room
- Join the room as the user that was just added
- Remove the user from the room by running:
User should be kicked out of the room right away or the room should disappear from the list as if the action was done in the client.
- The user will still have access to the room and see any new messages.
- Any messages sent by the user will not be saved to the room history.
- The user is still visible in people sidebar of the room for other room members.
- Even if the user is kicked out of the room after a while, the user will still be visible as a member for other room participants.
It seems that the client periodically runs a refresh that updates the membership of the user in the client based on the the server values.
The room list will be updated if you refresh the web client or logout/login of the desktop client.
Otherwise, you should account for the delay when relying on this API endpoint.