If a Confluence instance has just gone over its license limit, and someone creates a new page, everything goes fine until it's time to save. Then Confluence blows up with a license error:
This Confluence installation is not licensed for additional users
You have exceeded the maximum number of users for your license. You will still be able to view content, but in order to create or edit content, you must reduce the number of active users in the installation.
And.. loses all the page content the user just added.
This has to be the worst possible way of handling the situation. Can we not warn users somehow when they start creating new content that it can't be saved? If not, can we at least somehow preserve the content and display it on the error page (in a textarea for cut&pasting)?
Quotes from users:
The most frustrating part is that everything I put in was just lost and I have to recreate the last hr of work notes!
Additionally, it would be nice to display this error before hitting the save button to prevent loss of data entered as I've just lost the data I spent the last 15 minutes authoring.