It would be nice to have a feature in the administration section that could close the site for all non administrative users. Users without administrator access would only receive a page that said:
SITE IS DOWN
<Reason text configurable in the admin section.>
This would allow administrators to close the site before doing backups(exports) prior to upgrading the application, minimizing the chance for users to modify anything between a backup and an upgrade/restore.