Uploaded image for project: 'Bitbucket Server'
  1. Bitbucket Server
  2. BSERV-10718

Allow control of repository delete permissions

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • UIS:
      49
    • Feedback Policy:
      We collect Bitbucket feedback from various sources, and we evaluate what we've collected when planning our product roadmap. To understand how this piece of feedback will be reviewed, see our Implementation of New Features Policy.

      Description

      Atlassian status as of July 2020

      Hi,

      I'm excited to share that in Bitbucket Server 7.4 we added more control over who can delete repositories. In Bitbucket Data Center admin can go to Admin Settings -> Global Permissions -> Policies to select user roles allowed to delete repositories. By default, any repository can be deleted by repository admin, but often due to security or compliance repository deletion should be allowed only to a group of trusted users. 

      You can find more information in the Bitbucket Server 7.4 release notes and Policies documentation.

      I'm not closing the ticket for now. Please, leave you feedback in the comments.

      Anton Genkin
      Product Manager Bitbucket Server

      Original message

      This is cloned from BSERV-3839 , because I have the same issue and I feel this was not properrly addressed at the time and this is still a current issue with Bitbucket 5.x.

      There was a comment in the original ticket that argued this issue was the same as  STASH-3406, which is clearly NOT the case. The latter ticket deals with permission to create repositories in other projects, whereas this ticket deals with permission to delete repositories in a project.

      I would therefore be grateful if you would please review carefully the description of the original ticket below:

       
      TL;DR allow me to enable a flag "disallow repository deletion"

      When I try to delete a repository I get the following message

      This cannot be undone. All of the repository's contents will be irretrievably lost if they are not also stored elsewhere. All pull requests to this repository will also be deleted.


      This sounds dangerous and something that you don't want many people to be able to do.

      At the same time we want to allow a user to create new repositories.

      The closest thing I can see is to grant the PROJECT_CREATE permission but not the PROJECT_ADMIN permission. When I tried that it turned out that they automatically get the PROJECT_ADMIN permission on a repository that they just created (and thus permission to delete the repository).

      Please allow an option to prevent a user from having permission to delete a repository.
      An option to globally disallow repositories from being deleted would also work.

       

      Looking forward to your answer on this issue,

      With best regards.

       

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              Unassigned Unassigned
              Reporter:
              laurent.denanot297089839 Laurent Denanot
              Votes:
              19 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              20 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: