This is something I found randomly and I guess it makes sense for us to check. I tried this on a clean installation and reproduced many times in different ways. In a nutshell, I think the shortest path to demonstrate is the following:
- Let us say I have a project named ABC and a Rapid Board ABC Board containing issues from that project.
- I also have two users:
- charlie: All permissions on project ABC
- alpha: Only in jira-users, essentially only able to create issues in ABC (user has been added specifically in this example but it would work for him anyway):
- Project roles in ABC are like the following:
- charlie creates ABC-1:
- Then charlie adds ABC-1 to Sprint 1 (just created by him, also):
- The sprint id for that sprint is 1 (the address bar is from the sprint report):
- The Sprint field is also visible on all screens:
- Now user alpha tries to create an issue in JIRA. Remember that he cannot even browse project ABC but he can edit the Sprint Field and add the sprint id (1, in this case):
- ... so when he tries to view ABC-2 he cannot:
- However, ABC-2 has been added to the sprint:
Should this be possible? Am I missing something, perhaps?