Jira Assumes that you are Logged into the Top User Directory and Prevents Edits

XMLWordPrintable

    • 10.03
    • 1
    • Severity 3 - Minor

      Issue Summary

      As an administrator, I've setup a Crowd User Directory in Jira while logged into the environment using Jira's Internal Authentication.

      When I switch the directory order, the warning "You cannot edit this directory because you are logged in through it, please log in as a locally authenticating user to edit it."  also changes even though I haven't logged in to the other user directory.

      As a result, I am unable to edit the Top User Directory.

      Steps to Reproduce

      1. Setup Jira and Crowd
      2. In Jira, from Settings > User Management > User Directories, Add Crowd as a User Directory
      3. Once connected, move Crowd to the Top entry on the User Directory List

      Expected Results

      Crowd is the top level user directory and Jira Internal Directory is second. On the Jira Internal Directory entry, the warning "You cannot edit this directory because you are logged in through it, please log in as a locally authenticating user to edit it." is shown because that's where I have logged in

      Actual Results

      The warning "You cannot edit this directory because you are logged in through it, please log in as a locally authenticating user to edit it." follows as I switch the directory order even though my authentication hasn't changed 

      Workaround

      If you need to edit the top-level user directory then temporarily place it lower in the User Directory List

              Assignee:
              Unassigned
              Reporter:
              Patrick Turbett
              Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              2 Start watching this issue

                Created:
                Updated: