-
Type:
Suggestion
-
Resolution: Unresolved
-
None
-
Component/s: Issue - Attachments
-
1
-
1
Problem
- When an image file is copied and pasted into comment or other text area, the upload of the attachment to the backend completes at that point in time.
- If an undo operation (e.g. Ctrl+Z) is subsequently performed, only the reference markup in the text area (e.g. {{ !filename.png! }} ) is removed, while the attachment on the backend remains.
- If the comment submission is cancelled, the attachment continues to be retained in the system.
Background
If the customer is using Jira Data Center in an environment that handles highly sensitive data, and they are concerned that the discrepancy between the GUI behavior and the backend behavior could lead to a risk of information leakage.
Suggestions
- 1. When creating a new comment:
If a user cancels the comment submission, any attachments that were pasted into the comment field should also be discarded — i.e., they should not be saved to the system.
- 2. When editing an existing comment:
If a user removes an attachment from the editor and then clicks "Save," the attachment should be permanently deleted accordingly.
To be specific
- Display a confirmation dialog such as "Do you also want to delete the attachment?"
- Also, allow the behavior to be configurable at the system or project level