Uploaded image for project: 'Bitbucket Server'
  1. Bitbucket Server
  2. BSERV-12363

Update documentation in the "Move repository" functionalitty

    XMLWordPrintable

Details

    • 21
    • We collect Bitbucket feedback from various sources, and we evaluate what we've collected when planning our product roadmap. To understand how this piece of feedback will be reviewed, see our Implementation of New Features Policy.

    Description

      The Move repository button located at the upper right inside a Repository Details page can be hit do move a repository to another project.

      However, after moving a repo to another project, It is still possible to clone the repo using the old URL.

      This behavior will work forever. To get rid of the redirect, it's necessary to create a new blank repository as the same name of the old repository in the old project, and then delete this repository. This action should clear out the redirect.

      I've performed this test on my instance and it will be possible to create a new empty repo in the original project using the same repo's name as previously. If you perform a clone pointing to the new URL, it will pick up the new reference (an empty repo.)

      I'm raising this to add this information to the documentation since we got this feedback from a customer.

      Attachments

        Activity

          People

            Unassigned Unassigned
            rmadalozzo Rodrigo M
            Votes:
            2 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            3 Start watching this issue

            Dates

              Created:
              Updated: