Uploaded image for project: 'Bitbucket Server'
  1. Bitbucket Server
  2. BSERV-11019

Bitbucket should allow you to chose if a change is automatically forwarded when merging

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • UIS:
      5
    • Feedback Policy:
      We collect Bitbucket feedback from various sources, and we evaluate what we've collected when planning our product roadmap. To understand how this piece of feedback will be reviewed, see our Implementation of New Features Policy.

      Description

      With automatic merge forwarding enabled (http://docs.atlassian.com/bitbucketserver/docs-058/Automatic+branch+merging?utm_campaign=in-app-help&utm_medium=in-app-help&utm_source=stash), Bitbucket will automatically merge a change to all upstream branches when you click the the Merge button. There are times when you don’t want to merge a change forward (say when different fix is needed for a downstream branch due to architectural changes in the code), but users have no control over this through the UI (you can use merge strategy “ours” on the command-line).

      Our team would like the ability to choose not to forward a change via the Bitbucket UI rather than relying on the command-line option, similar to what’s described in https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/BSERV-5356. This will allow us to have better control over when changes can be merged (which the Bitbucket UI affords) without giving all users access to command-line merges to our release branches.

        Attachments

          Activity

            People

            Assignee:
            Unassigned Unassigned
            Reporter:
            corey26 Corey Steele
            Votes:
            0 Vote for this issue
            Watchers:
            1 Start watching this issue

              Dates

              Created:
              Updated:

                Backbone Issue Sync

                • Backbone Issue Sync is enabled for your project, but there is no synchronization info for this issue.