When a user is deleted and there is no other user in a different directory, his details are not deleted immediately.
Instead, they are preserved for 7 days.
- SSH keys
- GPG Keys
- Access tokes
- all user related data stored by apps
This applies to:
- users from an external directory (e.g. JIRA or LDAP)
- internal users (from the internal directory)
- Step 1
- Step 2
The documentation should cover the current implementation.
The Users and groups - Deleting users and groups page provides the following (incorrect) explanation:
If the user or group exist in another directory, Bitbucket Server assumes the intent was to permanently delete them, and we delete the users permissions, SSH keys and 'rememberme' tokens.