Uploaded image for project: 'Bitbucket Server'
  1. Bitbucket Server
  2. BSERV-4117

Provide authentication dates on the administration GUI

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Feedback Policy:
      We collect Bitbucket feedback from various sources, and we evaluate what we've collected when planning our product roadmap. To understand how this piece of feedback will be reviewed, see our Implementation of New Features Policy.

      Description

      Problem Definition

      For licensing purposes, Stash administrators sometimes want to delete/deactivate users that have not used their account ever (or for a very long time in fact). For this, they would need to see these login dates,

      Workaround

      Until Stash 3.7 was released, that is currently only possible by querying directly the database as described on the KB below (with the exception of "Delegated LDAP users"):

      Implementation

      Stash 3.7 will include a last authentication time in the UI regardless of which directory type they belong to. It is important to notice that the timestamp is also included in the REST payload for /rest/api/latest/admin/users. Hence, there is no more need to query the database.

      For example:

      $ curl -H "Content-Type:application/json" --user admin:admin -H "Accept:application/json" -X GET http://localhost:7990/bitbucket/rest/api/1.0/admin/users
      
      {  
         "size":3,
         "limit":25,
         "isLastPage":true,
         "values":[  
            {  
               "name":"admin",
               "emailAddress":"admin@example.com",
               "id":1,
               "displayName":"Administrator",
               "active":true,
               "slug":"admin",
               "type":"NORMAL",
               "directoryName":"Bitbucket Internal Directory",
               "deletable":true,
               "lastAuthenticationTimestamp":1450221817844,
               "mutableDetails":true,
               "mutableGroups":true,
               "links":{  
                  "self":[  
                     {  
                        "href":"http://localhost:7990/bitbucket/users/admin"
                     }
                  ]
               }
            },
            {  
               "name":"user",
               "emailAddress":"user@example.com",
               "id":2,
               "displayName":"User",
               "active":true,
               "slug":"user",
               "type":"NORMAL",
               "directoryName":"Bitbucket Internal Directory",
               "deletable":true,
               "mutableDetails":true,
               "mutableGroups":true,
               "links":{  
                  "self":[  
                     {  
                        "href":"http://localhost:7990/bitbucket/users/user"
                     }
                  ]
               }
            },
            {  
               "name":"user2",
               "emailAddress":"user@2.com",
               "id":51,
               "displayName":"User 2",
               "active":true,
               "slug":"user2",
               "type":"NORMAL",
               "directoryName":"Bitbucket Internal Directory",
               "deletable":true,
               "lastAuthenticationTimestamp":1449467319385,
               "mutableDetails":true,
               "mutableGroups":true,
               "links":{  
                  "self":[  
                     {  
                        "href":"http://localhost:7990/bitbucket/users/user2"
                     }
                  ]
               }
            }
         ],
         "start":0
      }

      Important info:

      This information can't be gleaned retroactively, so it will be maintained from the upgrade on. Until a user first logs in after the upgrade their last timestamp will show as "Unknown" in the UI.

      Each time a user authenticates via HTTP or SSH (including accessing a Git repository over HTTP or SSH, push or pull), or via the login page, their timestamp will be updated. If a user selects "Remember me" on the login screen, each time their session times out (generally ~30 minutes of inactivity unless reconfigured), when they get a new session using their remember me token their timestamp will also be updated.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              Unassigned Unassigned
              Reporter:
              pkoczan Peter Koczan (Inactive)
              Votes:
              27 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              23 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved: